Collection:

[Gr 4-6] Roald Dahl Book Club

[Gr 4-6] Roald Dahl Book Club

Regular price
$240.00
Regular price
Sale price
$240.00
Unit price
per 

Instructor

Eunice Ko

  • Over 2 years of experience as a middle school teacher in Philadelphia, USA
  • Over 8 years of tutoring experience
  • B.S in Biology and Education, Cornell University
  • M.S.Ed in Education, University of Pennsylvania

Class Schedule*

  • Grade 1-3: Every Thursday
  • Grade 4-6: Every Tuesday

6:15 am - 7:45 am  (EST)  
7:15 pm - 8:45 pm (China) 
8:15 pm - 9:45 pm (Korea, Japan) 

  • Session 1 for Grade 1-3: 12/17/2020-2/18/2021
  • Session 2 for Grade 4-6: 1/12-3/9 (Lunar new year break in February)

* Different hours after Daylight Saving Time starts on Mar. 14.

6:15 am - 7:45 am  (EST) 
6:15 pm - 7:45 pm (China)
8:15 pm - 9:45 pm (Korea, Japan) 

* The program will be automatically canceled if less than 3 students signed up for the program. (Subject to full tuition refund)

Class Materials

Students will need to prepare the books. Students can purchase from Apple books, Google play, or Kindle. 

Course Description

In this interactive book club, we will read and discuss books in a meaningful way. In each session, we will read different books and explore their characters and major themes. Students will learn how to engage with books by discussing how characters interact with each other as the story develops. Each lesson will be highly interactive. Discussion questions will facilitate effective group discussion skills and boost critical thinking. 

While reading each book, students will also be guided to complete a book review in which they can discuss the characters, plots, themes, and ideas in the book.

Key Lessons

Students will learn:

  1. Develop creativity and critical thinking skills through reading discussion
  2. Discuss major themes and examine elements of plot, specifically conflict, climax, and resolution
  3. Practice listening and response skills
  4. Develop English writing skills
  5. Expand English vocabulary